Go Back   Nodiatis Forums > Nodiatis Forums > General Discussion > Player Guides and Help
Forgot?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Old 02-05-2010, 12:55 AM   #181
Smashbros
Epic Scholar
 
Smashbros's Avatar
 
Smashbros is offline
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4,176
Default

they have either 3+ or 4+ runes which means you only need 10 runology.

with 30 runology you will be able to use 2 runes.

when your clan can use 3++ or 4++ you will be able to use 1 rune at 0 runology.
__________________




Quote:
Originally Posted by Glitchless View Post
However you want to spin it, buddy. This patch was specifically designed to somehow screw you over.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glitchless View Post
Tell that to the crybaby archers
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glitchless View Post
We are well aware of the over-dramatic reactions to game changes in an effort to skew perception. It doesn't work, just makes them look like cry babies.
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-05-2010, 01:39 PM   #182
Guessingo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

how do i tell if a rune is 3+ or 3++? What does my clan have to do to be able to use those?
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-05-2010, 08:22 PM   #183
Smashbros
Epic Scholar
 
Smashbros's Avatar
 
Smashbros is offline
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4,176
Default

to use higher lvled runes your clan needs more ter and dom.

to see what lvl the rune is just hover over them, it will say the name, eg, Rune Of Incantation 3+. all runes will be like that. soo its fairly simple to see what rank they are.
__________________




Quote:
Originally Posted by Glitchless View Post
However you want to spin it, buddy. This patch was specifically designed to somehow screw you over.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glitchless View Post
Tell that to the crybaby archers
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glitchless View Post
We are well aware of the over-dramatic reactions to game changes in an effort to skew perception. It doesn't work, just makes them look like cry babies.
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-06-2010, 04:15 AM   #184
Conqueror
Rare Collector
 
Conqueror's Avatar
 
Conqueror is offline
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 796
Default

Guessingo

I tried explaining runes to you before in great detail on page 4 of this thread.

Here is the original post. It covers everything you have asked recently.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Conqueror View Post
Here is how runes and clans work:

In order to use runes you have to be in a clan. You can create your own clan using 50,000 gold or you can join one of the preexisting ones. [Clans are often recruiting in public chat; you must be sent an invite to enter a preexisting clan]. In a clan there are different ranks; these ranks are:

1. initiate
2. civilian
3. soldier
4. veteran
5. officer
6. master

[In order to use runes you have to a soldier or higher in rank (i.e. veteran, officer or master); I didn't include spies in the ranks above; clans can also have spies but spies can not use runes either].

Now lets say you have just started your own clan. Lets say you want to start using runes. What do you do now?

Once you start a clan or are in a clan, there is a compartment called a rune vault [the link for it is next to the auction house icon at the bottom left of the screen]. Once you click on this link, a set of boxes similar to your storage will open up. Runes are placed inside this rune vault.

Once the rune has been placed in the rune vault, it must be activated. Lets say a rank 1 ironclad rune has been placed in the rune vault. If you look at the rank 1 ironclad rune you will see that it says the following:

rune power needed to activate the rune: 50,000
dominance requirement: 0
territory requirement: o
the rune gives 50 extra armor class

1 rune power = 1 gold

Thus, in order to activate the rank 1 iron clad you need 50,000 gold. It can be activated for a month. Next month it has to be activated again.

This is why you want more than 1 person in a clan. When everyone shares the cost it becomes much easier [50,000 gold from 50 people is 1k per person for 50 extra armor class].

Once the rune has been activated, anyone who is in the clan and has a rank of soldier or higher can use the rune. To use the rune:
1. open rune vault
2. right click on an active rune and select "link to runeslot 1 option."
3. Tadaa you are now using a rune.

Higher rank runes need dominance and territory to activate: to get dominance and territory your clan has to go to war. If you are at war with another clan and one of their members comes on to your square, click on their face and select the "clan battle" option. You both have to be soldiers or higher in rank to fight a clan battle. [Note: if you are at war with another clan, the other clan's members' faces will flash yellow]. If you win the clan battle, your clan will gain rune power, dominance and territory. If you lose the clan battle, your clan will lose rune power. So you need to know when it is in your favor to pick a fight.

Be a smart bully.

One more thing: the archeorunology requirement

You can link a regular rune (for example Iron clad 1) to:
slot 1 if you have 20 archeorunology
slot 2 if you have 40 archeorunology
slot 3 if you have 60 archeorunology
slot 4 if you have 80 archeorunology
slot 5 if you have 100 archeorunology
slot 6 if you have 120 archeorunology

You can link a + rune (for example Iron clad 3+) to:
slot 1 if you have 10 archeorunology
slot 2 if you have 30 archeorunology
slot 3 if you have 50 archeorunology
slot 4 if you have 70 archeorunology
slot 5 if you have 90 archeorunology
slot 6 if you have 110 archeorunology

You can link a ++ rune (for example Iron clad 4 ++) to:
slot 1 if you have 0 archeorunology
slot 2 if you have 20 archeorunology
slot 3 if you have 40 archeorunology
slot 4 if you have 60 archeorunology
slot 5 if you have 80 archeorunology
slot 6 if you have 100 archeorunology

In other words each additional + on the rune drops the requirement for the rune slot by 10.

One final thing to consider
:
Free accounts can use the 1st, 4th, 5th, 6th rune slots. They can not use the 2nd and 3rd slots

Standard accounts can use the 1st, 2nd, 4th, 5th, 6th rune slots. They can not use the 3rd

With a premium account you can use all of the rune slots
_________________________________________________
And my reply to Juan Arquero:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Juan Arquero View Post
Thanks again Smashbros and Conqueror. I got online to log in my 9 characters and check on this thread. Yes, Conqueror, I know I'm crazy for having 9 characters, especially due to the fact that I don't have much time to actively play them. I'm a taxi driver IRL (often working 80+ hours per week), so most of my character development is passive. I've quoted parts of Conqueror's post below, so that I can give a detailed response in an edit when I have time later today.

Sorry for the late reply. I was a bit busy the past few days myself. But Wow Juan. 80+ hours is a lot of work. Don't wear yourself out.

That's a lot of stuff to make a quiver. I used to be an archer during my youth, but I've never hunted IRL. However, I'm pretty sure that the leather from 19 mongoose skins would be enough to make more than one quiver, even a quiver that holds 20 arrows. Of course, the quivers in Nodiatis only hold one arrow each. I guess all the arrows are magical & teleport themselves back to their quivers or they act like boomerangs (which would explain all the archers shooting themselves when dazed).

I took an archery class too and I've never hunted either. Archery is a lot of fun in real life, I must say.
Regarding the way arrows work and why you need 19 mongoose skins to make one quiver, your guess is as good as mine lol.
I always just thought that your one arrow in the game was some sort of a magical talisman that could be used to summon more arrows of the same type.



I suspected that based on what I've seen other experienced players post or say in civil.

You are right; no way to make money by crafting and selling an item to the store unless the item is epic


I understand your frustration with the crafting system. I've done some noob crafting -- scaling flounders (to reduce their weight & get extra fishing experience) and skinning what I've hunted. I started saving spider silks until one of my characters got a spindle, used two spider silks (worth 1 gold each) to create a spider thread (worth 1 gold) for a net loss of 1 gold and a measily gain of 40 experience. Anybody making thread should be able to do so without losing money, so thread should be worth at least 2 gold each at the stores.

After that experience, I pretty much dismissed the idea of doing much crafting (except for scaling and skinning) with low level Ns. My reason for asking all the questions above about dismantling wasn't so I could do crafting, but due to curiousity regarding if dismantling was worthwhile to get resins to craft into trophies.

I had the exact same experience when I was a "N" account and a lot of other N's have the same experience too. Imagine the heart break when the new comer spends hours saving up just enough gold to buy a skinning knife only to find out that he/she actually lost one gold coin in the process and is in the negative; I bet that a lot of new comers quit the game due to this disappointment.

If I dismantle a charred dagger (worth 2230 gold retail or 423 wholesale), will I get enough resins to make trophies worth about 66,907 experience (2230 divided by 33.33) or 12,691 experience (423 divided by 33.33)?

Will I get any resins if I dismantle level 6 (uncommon) armor?

Regarding this: Just take what Chrism said as correct or test it out on your own and post your results. I never dismantle my drops for resins. Even when I was trying to craft items, I wasn't paying attention to what resins I was getting; I was more interested in the crafting aspect of the game. Here is what Chrism said on the previous page:

"Regarding dismantling items and crafting trophies:

The resins produced when dismantling an item are usually worth about 90% of the sell-to-store value. This means that if you are after the resins, just sell the item and buy some resins from the general store in any town. You'll end up producing more experience this way

There are certain combinations of resins that guarantee combats or spirits. To get combats, use a stack of 20, 24, or 28 pure spun pine resins (sold in t4). I can't remember a 100% spirit recipe off hand but I know there is at least one."



My computer is upgraded as far as it can be (2 GB RAM & 512 MB video card), but it still has trouble keeping all 9 characters logged in -- during the 3-4 hours that I was gone, I temporarily lost access to 6 of the accounts (one seems to be active since I can see him on the buddies list of an active character, but I can't control him). If the remaining three start experiencing problems, I'll have to reboot my computer & log in all 9 again.

I don't think that it is a problem with your computer. Nodiatis can be pretty heavy on the computer from what I have heard. The fact that you can log in 9 toons at once, shows me that you have a very nice machine. I have lag outs at times when I have only 2 accounts logged in, in separate browser windows.

Here is what Glitchless said about this:
"Playing more than 3 on a single computer is not advised, nor should you ever really need to. It is best to play Nodiatis in seperate browser windows as opposed to seperate tabs since it can sometimes cause memory issues - but experiment with it if you like.

Note: Playing multiple accounts at once takes a lot of memory, 1 gig at the very minimum but preferably 2 or more."




My main is Juanarquero, since I've been using that name for gaming for years and it has a lot of meaning to me: Juan is a common name in my mother's family, Arquero (Archer) refers to my interest in archery as a youth & the entire name refers to one of my favorite TV characters -- Juan Arquero = John Archer = Jonathan Archer, the captain on Star Trek: Enterprise. Juan Arquero works just as well as a name for a fantasy character, as it does for a science fiction character. My obvious choice of an archer as my first character had nothing to do with the strength of the class -- I would've still created an archer even if it was the weakest class.

It is great that your character name has meaning behind it. A lot of people just sit on their keyboard and go with the alphabets that come up as their character name.

I've thought about buying a TC, but I never use up my RRT, much less my RT on any of my characters, so I would never fully use the benefits of a standard account.

I understand. You are very busy and when you are not busy you would want to relax and not necessarily play Nodiatis in your free time. If you ever have more time to play, you can look into buying a tc . It is not a bad value ($5 for almost a month of standard account service). Alternatively you could save up enough gold on one account to buy a time card on the auction house. They cost about 150k in gold nowadays.

I've often given advice to and/or grouped with noobs to help them get started, mostly Ns, but I've even helped an occasional low level paid player get started (or even given advice to level 10-15 players, paid or Ns).

You are an asset to the Nodiatis community. If you have any questions feel free to ask me and I will be glad to help to the best of my limited ability.
__________________

Last edited by Conqueror; 02-06-2010 at 04:20 AM..
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-06-2010, 12:57 PM   #185
Guessingo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

so basically people craft to get gold to spend on runes. It does not look like there is much else to spend it on. My clan has 3+ runes. I can only use the one that gives 150 armor. I am trying to get my runeology to 30 so i can use the vampiric one that gives 4%

can you craft runes or do you have to find them? I would guess to get 4+ runes you need to be near level 80 right?

I am in Synod. Been in it for a while. I am level 31 and my mage is getting better.
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-06-2010, 04:33 PM   #186
Guessingo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

how do i raise social skills other than passive training?
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-06-2010, 05:12 PM   #187
Roeth
Seer's BFF
 
Roeth is offline
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 609
Default

Right - you find runes in loot, they can't be crafted.

I've found runes up to 4+ only so far, no idea if it is totally random or if there are level areas for finding them (you can get ++ and +++ runes, +++ are Epics)

Social skills are raised by trading with other people via the Auction house (buying or selling). As long as gold changes hands, you get social experience (I think it's 10 experience points per gold)
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-07-2010, 12:18 AM   #188
Conqueror
Rare Collector
 
Conqueror's Avatar
 
Conqueror is offline
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 796
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guessingo View Post
My clan has 3+ runes. I can only use the one that gives 150 armor. I am trying to get my runeology to 30 so i can use the vampiric one that gives 4%
If you have at least 20 in archeorunology you can use any rune. Just unlink your iron clad and link the vampiric rune if you feel that you do not need the extra armor class and the vampiric effect would be more beneficial.

20 in archeorunology does not mean that you HAVE to use the iron clad. It just means that you can put any rune into the first rune slot.

I will go over runes again. You might know this already but I will try and clarify it just in case.

HOW TO FIGURE OUT WHICH SLOTS YOUR RUNE SHOULD AND CAN BE LINKED TO:


for regular runes (meaning no plus) like this one:

you need
20 archeorunology to link this rune to the first rune slot
40 archeorunology to link this rune to the second rune slot
60 archeorunology to link this rune to the third rune slot
80 archeorunology to link this rune to the fourth rune slot
100 archeorunology to link this rune to the fifth rune slot
120 archeorunology to link this rune to the sixth rune slot



for + runes like this one each archeorunology requirement is dropped by 10:

So you need
10 archeorunology to link this rune to the first rune slot
30 archeorunology to link this rune to the second rune slot
50 archeorunology to link this rune to the third rune slot
70 archeorunology to link this rune to the fourth rune slot
90 archeorunology to link this rune to the fifth rune slot
110 archeorunology to link this rune to the sixth rune slot



for ++ runes like this one each archeorunology requirement is dropped by 20:

So you need
0 archeorunology to link to the first rune slot
20 archeorunology to link this rune to the second rune slot
40 archeorunology to link this rune to the third rune slot
60 archeorunology to link this rune to the fourth rune slot
80 archeorunology to link this rune to the fifth rune slot
100 archeorunology to link this rune to the sixth rune slot

And that is right. You could link this rune to the first rune slot without ever increasing archeorunology. If your clan has this rune and it has been activated, anyone who is a soldier or higher in rank, can link it to their first rune slot even if their archeorunology skill is 0.


An example to show how all of this works:

Lets say that:
1. your clan vault has this rank 5++ rune active
2. your clan vault also has an active rank 2 iron clad
3. You have 20 in the archeorunology skill

Here is how you should link these runes:

The rank 2 iron clad should go in rune slot 1

(This is a simple rank 2; No +; and so you need 20 in the archeorunology skill to put this rune in the first rune slot; 40 to link this rune to the second rune slot. Since you have only 20 in archeorunology in this example, you link this rune to rune slot 1).

The rank 5++ rune should go in the second rune slot
(Each + drops the requirement by 10. To place an ordinary rune like the iron clad rank 2 [no +] in the second rune slot you would need 40 in archeorunology.
A rank 5++ has two plusses meaning that the requirement for the second rune slot is dropped from 40 to 20 [10 for each plus]. So you need only 20 in the archeorunology skill in order to link this rune to your second rune slot. Since, in this example, you have 20 in archeorunology, you can use your second slot by linking this rune.)

Tadaa with only 20 in archeorunology, you have equipped two runes.

If you flip it around and put the 5++ in your first rune slot, you could not put the regular rank 2 in your second rune slot since you do not have the necessary 40 in archeorunology.



Each additional plus drops the requirement of the rune slot by 10.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Guessingo View Post
how do i raise social skills other than passive training?
Step 1: Put the skill that you want to raise on active. Do this by right clicking the skill and selecting the "active training" option.

Step 2: Sell something. Whenever you sell something for gold, you gain social xp in the skill that you have selected to be trained actively. For instance, selling trophies for gold or time cards for gold or anything for gold, will do the trick.

If you still have questions regarding runes, feel free to ask and I will try and clarify it further.

Regards


EDIT: I have a suggestion: If you have extra gold, contribute to your clan's rune power by purchasing some. A lot of people fail to realize just how much the runes that they are using cost.

A rank 3+ rune costs 900,000 gold to activate [and this does not include the cost of raising dominance and territory].

A rank 5 ++ costs 7,000,000 gold [again not including the gold cost of territory and dominance].

Furthermore, keep in mind that this is the cost of one rune in one month. Each new month, the runes have to be reactivated.

So if you have some extra gold, help yourself and your clannies by buying some rune power. You are using the runes after all so you should help your clan by contributing towards rune activation.
__________________

Last edited by Conqueror; 02-07-2010 at 01:17 AM..
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-12-2010, 06:21 AM   #189
Naruto Uzumaki
Neophyte
 
Naruto Uzumaki's Avatar
 
Naruto Uzumaki is offline
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 10
Default

What need to do to completely destroy enemy clan? I suddenly destroyed clan when won their master. But before that this master was beaten few times and enemy clan was not destroyed.
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-12-2010, 06:27 AM   #190
thatperson
Epic Scholar
 
thatperson's Avatar
 
thatperson is offline
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: In bed with Skred
Posts: 4,691
Default

you make the other clan lose all of their rune power...upon the death of a clan member it costs the clan 100xlvl in rune power when rune power reaches 0 the clan is destroyed
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glitchless View Post
There are modifiers that alter drop chance when you go AFK based on what you do when gone. We will list them here:
  • Fix and eat a sandwich +15%
  • Watch TV -5%
  • Urinate +20%
  • Finish your homework +10%
  • Stand on your head for 5+ minutes +33%

We believe these are working as intended.
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-10-2010, 08:54 PM   #191
Revanche
Boss Hunter
 
Revanche's Avatar
 
Revanche is offline
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Malachor V
Posts: 245
Send a message via MSN to Revanche Send a message via Yahoo to Revanche
Default

Bump.

This thread is too full of info to fall off the first page.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 AM
Boards live since 05-21-2008


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.