Go Back   Nodiatis Forums > Nodiatis Forums > General Discussion > Player Guides and Help
RECOVER | REGISTER

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Java Problems in Windows 8
Old 04-06-2013, 05:21 AM   #1
Murdoc
Boss Hunter
 
Murdoc is offline
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 110
Default Java Problems in Windows 8

It was mentioned sometime before, but are there known issues with java and Win8?
Since no matter what i update, if i empty cache or even reinstall, i get the same error over and over again:
ClassNotFoundException
dark.class

corrupted java or whatever. i get the feeling that win8 is the problem, and not java.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glitchless View Post
Some people like to be able to do things to corpses even if it wastes mana as an integral part of their role-playing experience.
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-06-2013, 06:40 AM   #2
Glitchless
Administrator
 
Glitchless's Avatar
 
Glitchless is offline
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,552
Default

We had no issues running Nodiatis on our Win8 test computer. Try downloading Chrome if you're having issues with IE.
__________________
Computing the probability that at least one of the following events will occur:
P(a or b ... or z) = 1 - P(!a and !b ... and !z)
Probability
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-06-2013, 10:09 PM   #3
concede
Temporarily Suspended
 
concede is offline
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 585
Default

you are reinstalling the JDK version of Java right?

this error message means you are trying to use a class that is not located in your JVM classpath. In order to resolve this error, you must find the .class or the .jar file that contains the class you need, and add it to your classpath. I know this doesn't help much but changing browsers won't resolve it either.

load: class Dark.class not found.
java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: Dark.class
at sun.plugin2.applet.Applet2ClassLoader.findClass(Un known Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.loadCode(Unk nown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2Manager.createApplet(Unk nown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2Manager$AppletExecutionR unnable.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
Caused by: java.io.IOException: open HTTP connection failed:http://www.nodiatis.com/Dark/class.class
at sun.plugin2.applet.Applet2ClassLoader.getBytes(Unk nown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Applet2ClassLoader.access$000(U nknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Applet2ClassLoader$1.run(Unknow n Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)

this is pretty common with Win7 as well


you can try adding the file path of C: program files/java/bin (general location) to the environment variables

under computer properties--->advanced system settings--->environment variables--->'new' user variable and name it CLASSPATH and in variable value paste the copied file path of java bin

then under system values edit the variable named PATH and paste that file location as well (i would copy the actual variable listed before you replace it, ultimately it should be the same end result)

updating java may cause this issue to happen again
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-07-2013, 04:14 AM   #4
Murdoc
Boss Hunter
 
Murdoc is offline
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 110
Default

Con, you are my god.
thanks man XD
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glitchless View Post
Some people like to be able to do things to corpses even if it wastes mana as an integral part of their role-playing experience.
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-07-2013, 08:06 AM   #5
concede
Temporarily Suspended
 
concede is offline
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 585
Default

holy canoli did it work?

lucky guess.....i use to have to do that to run certain emulators but that was on XP
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-07-2013, 09:57 AM   #6
Murdoc
Boss Hunter
 
Murdoc is offline
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 110
Default

well, i dont know if it was specifically that.
I tossed all that crap off my drive, reinstalled browser and java and did what you mentioned above. Whatever did the trick doesnt matter in the end tho. it works.^^
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glitchless View Post
Some people like to be able to do things to corpses even if it wastes mana as an integral part of their role-playing experience.
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-07-2013, 06:39 PM   #7
hotshot64
Epic Scholar
 
hotshot64's Avatar
 
hotshot64 is offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,068
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glitchless View Post
Try downloading Chrome if you're having issues with IE.
^ ---- this fixes all issues with IE! And Firefox. Cause Google rocks
__________________
https://nodtools.net
Your comprehensive source for Nodiatis calculators and information.



  Reply With Quote

Old 04-08-2013, 01:52 AM   #8
Skarner
Temporarily Suspended
 
Skarner is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 62
Default

Firefox has no problems with me, and I have a "beta" of a 64 bit version.

So not only am I using firefox, but it's 64 bit, with a 64 bit build of java. Oh so many things could go wrong... but no issues at all.

Edit: Also, Win7>Win8

Last edited by Skarner; 04-08-2013 at 01:53 AM.. Reason: Edit
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-19-2013, 04:22 PM   #9
Murdoc
Boss Hunter
 
Murdoc is offline
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 110
Default

Oh hell. Its back.
And this time nothing seems to work. reinstalled java (and the browser) and no change whatsoever.
what is strange is that it used to work on a previous version, but now even downgrading to prior versions doesnt help. im quite honestly confused here.
Found the culprit. Kasperski is overprotective again.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glitchless View Post
Some people like to be able to do things to corpses even if it wastes mana as an integral part of their role-playing experience.

Last edited by Murdoc; 04-20-2013 at 08:43 AM..
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-22-2013, 04:54 PM   #10
NoRemorse
Seer's BFF
 
NoRemorse's Avatar
 
NoRemorse is offline
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Airborn
Posts: 747
Default

Bump for ulerd
__________________
"Hit the lights" because we can always "Enter Sandman"
Life with "NoRemorse" till we hear "for whom the bell tolls"
Purpose of life: Be able to look in the mirror at the end of the day and be satisfied with it
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-22-2013, 05:02 PM   #11
adino
Boss Hunter
 
adino is offline
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 169
Default

I have the same exact issue with Firefox. The last time it happened i uninstalled java then installed it again. That worked until i closed the browser. This time nothing worked. I will try the above fix when i get some spare time. For now Chrome is working but in the past Chrome has been very sluggish, especially when in arena with more than 1 toon.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 PM
Boards live since 05-21-2008


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.