Go Back   Nodiatis Forums > Nodiatis Forums > General Discussion > Bug & Exploit Reports
Forgot?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Runes Stack?
Old 08-03-2009, 02:07 PM   #1
Pasterqb
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post Runes Stack?

Someone told me runes stack yet i try to equip 2 Runes of wise but it delinks the other one always.

The runes are from 2 different clans and 2 different ranks.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-03-2009, 02:18 PM   #2
sherman
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pasterqb View Post
Someone told me runes stack yet i try to equip 2 Runes of wise but it delinks the other one always.

The runes are from 2 different clans and 2 different ranks.
You aren't allowed to have more than 1 of the same rune.

The runes stack on mobs.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-03-2009, 04:51 PM   #3
Sho
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

According to Glitchless in a previous post on "Auras"...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glitchless View Post
Everything in the game stacks except for the individual effects of auras that do the same thing. They don't stack. Nor do they stack with the epic proc since that is also an aura. The more powerful one will overwrite.
So I may be taking this out of context but not all runes cause an aura. therefore any of them that do not cause a aura should stack. Unless Glitchless is changing the rules on stacking.

Clarification from Glitchless would be appreciated.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-03-2009, 04:57 PM   #4
Glitchless
Administrator
 
Glitchless's Avatar
 
Glitchless is offline
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,465
Default

Runes were purposefully made to not be auras, even though some of them have the same effect as auras. Runes will stack with everything and each other - although you can't equip more than 1 of the same type of rune.
__________________
Computing the probability that at least one of the following events will occur:
P(a or b ... or z) = 1 - P(!a and !b ... and !z)
Probability
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-03-2009, 05:03 PM   #5
Sho
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glitchless View Post
Runes were purposefully made to not be auras, even though some of them have the same effect as auras. Runes will stack with everything and each other - although you can't equip more than 1 of the same type of rune.
why cant you equip more than one of the same type? isn't that how you stack?
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-03-2009, 05:08 PM   #6
Ehlmaris
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sho View Post
why cant you equip more than one of the same type? isn't that how you stack?
It is. You can stack a rune of the wise with a rune of riches and rune of plunder and rune of quicksteel and rune of gemhaste and run of swiftarrow and get the effects of all six.

But equipping six rank 5++ runes of the wise won't work as that exp increase would be fuggin' ridiculous.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-03-2009, 05:10 PM   #7
Sho
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ehlmaris View Post
It is. You can stack a rune of the wise with a rune of riches and rune of plunder and rune of quicksteel and rune of gemhaste and run of swiftarrow and get the effects of all six.
But that isn't stacking. That is having different runes...
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-03-2009, 05:18 PM   #8
richp
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

maybe its the wording but I'm confused....if thats the correct answer then auras stack as well. you can have an aura of sloth and an aura of lethargy an aura of thorns an lucidity, etc...

"Stacking" means having more of the same thing. for instance if you have two things that cause poison damage and they stack. you get both effects. if you have a poison and a disease you wouldnt say they stack because they are not the same effect.

so to say runes "Stack" would mean two of the same types of runes can be in effect at the same time and get the benefit of both.

Please explain this a little better....


we all know auras dont stack. you cannot have two flare up auras and get the effect of both if they are in play together. as in the combination of the two auras.

So if runes DO stack then two runes of wise should be able to be used together and get the benefit of the combination of the two runes.

Last edited by richp; 08-03-2009 at 05:24 PM..
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-03-2009, 05:40 PM   #9
Ehlmaris
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Perhaps by stack he means the boosts of the runes stack with other similar boosts from non-runes. EXAMPLE:

Quicksteel: Stacks with melee haste aura, as well as Dual Weild skill and whatever else lowers melee delay
Swiftarrow: Stacks with range haste aura, as well as whatever else lowers range delay
Wise: Stacks with... umm... 90% of the learning skills, just about
Plunder: stacks with plunderfiend
Riches: stacks with treasure sense

perhaps it's something like that
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-03-2009, 05:40 PM   #10
Tai`Lauranna
Boss Hunter
 
Tai`Lauranna's Avatar
 
Tai`Lauranna is offline
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Darkest corner of your mind... in AZ
Posts: 230
Default

sho- i can't even use runes and the answer has been clearly stated...

Quote:
Originally Posted by sherman View Post
You aren't allowed to have more than 1 of the same rune.

The runes (effects) stack on mobs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sho View Post
So I may be taking this out of context but not all runes cause an aura.
Yes, you are- because in this case, this is what you want them to do.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sho View Post
...therefore any of them that do not cause a aura should stack. Unless Glitchless is changing the rules on stacking. Clarification from Glitchless would be appreciated.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glitchless View Post
Runes were purposefully made to not be auras, even though some of them have the same effect as auras. Runes will stack with everything and each other - although you can't equip more than 1 of the same type of rune.
So, your question is answered, and with the with the answer right in front of you what do you do? You ask...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sho View Post
why cant you equip more than one of the same type? isn't that how you stack?
Once again, the effects of runes will stack.

Anyone else here that actually gets to USE runes want to clarify any better?

EDIT: during a "Preview Post", I see that a few ppl have posted. Sorry if I have simply restated a given answer.
__________________
Never fight with an idiot. They will bring you down to their level, and defeat you with experience.

Last edited by Tai`Lauranna; 08-03-2009 at 05:44 PM..
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-03-2009, 05:48 PM   #11
Ehlmaris
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You did Tai, pretty much what I said, but in a different way - maybe one of us will get through here!
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-03-2009, 05:54 PM   #12
Sho
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

LOL... I was waiting for a reply from Glitchless... you have your say and you can argue it all you want. Since you don't work for Glitchless then it really doesn't matter. You sure wasted a lot of time and effort on that reply...
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-03-2009, 06:08 PM   #13
sherman
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sho View Post
LOL... I was waiting for a reply from Glitchless... you have your say and you can argue it all you want. Since you don't work for Glitchless then it really doesn't matter. You sure wasted a lot of time and effort on that reply...
It has been previously stated by Glitchless that no player can equip 2 of the same rune.

However, it appears that mobs can use more than 1 of the same rune.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-03-2009, 06:17 PM   #14
Sho
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sherman View Post
It has been previously stated by Glitchless that no player can equip 2 of the same rune.

However, it appears that mobs can use more than 1 of the same rune.
Where was it said that previously? I do not count in-game chat since there is no official record that we can see. except today i haven't seen it posted anywhere. I was just asking for clarification from Glitchless since they are saying that Runes can stack but but then saying you cant have 2 of the same rune... sounds contradictory to me.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-03-2009, 06:26 PM   #15
Pasterqb
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

yea this is kinda stupid the ONLY way you can stack effects is to equip 2 of the same rune seeing as how no runes have similar effects

i think Jeff needs to make it possible to equip more than 1 of the same type of rune or make it say that same type runes and same type auras dont stack.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-03-2009, 06:26 PM   #16
richp
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

so the conclusion from the nod members is.....rune's DONT stack with each other....

I think we need a better explaination from the mod's....

"Runes will stack with everything and each other - although you can't equip more than 1 of the same type of rune."

So if you have two runes that have a similar effect...but not the same rune they will stack? No two runes really have the same effect...So the wording should be "runes stack with everything except other runes"
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-03-2009, 06:27 PM   #17
sherman
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sho View Post
Where was it said that previously? I do not count in-game chat since there is no official record that we can see. except today i haven't seen it posted anywhere. I was just asking for clarification from Glitchless since they are saying that Runes can stack but but then saying you cant have 2 of the same rune... sounds contradictory to me.
Mobs can have multiple of the same rune, because they are special.

IIRC it was last week at the earliest, maybe 2 days after runes came out at the latest.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-03-2009, 08:21 PM   #18
Ehlmaris
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

*gives up trying to explain difference between runes and effects*

you guys have fun with this...

and for the record sho i've been right about a lot of these things before. glitchless has confirmed it :P
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-03-2009, 08:26 PM   #19
sherman
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ehlmaris View Post
*gives up trying to explain difference between runes and effects*

you guys have fun with this...

and for the record sho i've been right about a lot of these things before. glitchless has confirmed it :P


  Reply With Quote

Old 08-03-2009, 08:46 PM   #20
Ehlmaris
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sherman View Post


it totally is.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 AM
Boards live since 05-21-2008


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.